Art Journals for the Average Non-Artist

I’m no artist. I want to be clear about that from the start.

But I doodle like crazy.

So a couple of years ago, I went to Michael’s and bought and journal. Lucky for me, my Mom had a bunch of really thin colorful pens  that I could use, and I went to work right away. I drew what I always did: squiggly suns, smiley faces, the curve of a wave, an island with a lawn chair and a palm tree, mountains with little pine trees. And then I added a bunch of quotations that made me happy. Sometimes, when I feel particularly inspired, I spend the time to draw something that takes a little while. I carefully color it in. And I stare at it and feel accomplished and happy.

And that’s what my journal has been: doodles and quotes that I love.

My only rule is that I cannot write or draw anything negative. My journal is a space where only positive things go.

If this sounds like something you’d like to try:

Here are some cute, affordable journals:

1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Here are pens/stuff to draw with:

lowest cost, moderate cost, higher cost

Here are stickers/other cool things to add: 

stickers

 inspirational stickers

dried flowers

rubber stamps and ink

Here are websites where you can find inspiration: 

Tumblr

Pinterest

WeHeartIt

Instagram

VSCO 

Let me know how your journals work for you! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

