A Late Post About New Years Resolutions

I’m a little late, considering it’s January 6, 2017, but this new year means a fresh start for all of us. A blank canvas, a clean slate, a clear horizon—whatever metaphor you like. Awesome things are going to happen over these next 12 months.

I’m not the best at making resolutions and sticking to them. I tell myself I’ll eat better, that I’ll go to the gym three times a week, that I’ll drink less coffee and eat better. But then life happens and I don’t do as well as I hoped I would, and it’s so discouraging.

So this year, I want to try something different. Here are some broad guidelines that I’m going to try and practice this year to make my life better:

1.) love & take care of my body, spirit, and mind

I want to love myself. I want to exercise and eat well as much as I can (even if that means walking laps around a mall) because my body is where I live. It does amazing things for me and I want to treat it well. I want to put meaningful art on it. I want to pray more and explore different religions and see what other people believe. I want to challenge myself intellectually and relax and care for myself when I need rest.

2.) love others & do good

I want to make lots of new friends. I want to be the best partner I can be. I want to continue learning to communicate effectively and honestly with others. I want to be loving and warm and kind and generous as much as humanly possible. I want to love and protect the world we live in and everyone and everything in it.

3.) stay positive & forgive yourself 

There will always be a spark of positivity burning inside me, even on my hardest days. I will strive to do the best I can with what I have, and always forgive myself and others when mistakes and inevitably made.

Here’s to striving to be better and love each moment of 2017.

Leave a Reply

